not yo cheese

hey, what kinda cheese is that?

nacho cheese.

couldn’t help it, sorry.

also couldn’t helping sharing this delish dish.

photo (10)

um, yum. i know.

so, i came home last night after grocery shopping while starving. i had bought so much food that i didn’t know what to cook. surprisingly, i didn’t go all nutso and buy eight hundred dollars of lemon cake and peanut butter. so it was a success. but, i was stuck. i didn’t want to spend like four hours making this soup recipe i was dying to try (making it now and im soo excited) and i really didn’t want any of my go to dishes. i.e. brussel sprouts, potato anything or quinoa anything.

regardless of purchasing all this new shit, i used a ton of old shit that was already in my fridge and could have saved me the hour at trader joes that i spent wandering around looking for dried peas…….

i only cook for myself, because no one else in my apartment is veganatarian — vegan + vegetarian depending on my mood. so all it took was one small, peeled sweet potato cut in rounds drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with cayenne pepper, salt, and black pepper. then, controlling my drooling i patiently stared at the clock waiting for my “chips” to be done. finally, it was time. i piled them high with ground “beef” from trader joes (yes, yum), jalepenos (spice queen, hello), diced tomatoes, diced avocado, and shredded cheese. no, not vegan cheese. i haven’t been able to bring myself to use it since my first experience that made me sad. drizzled some of my holy grail/add to everything, tapatio, and bam. i was in “nacho” heaven.

okay, i was so stoked on it that i text a photo to my cousin and was all like “i made sweet potato nachos” and she was like “i’m in line for a corndog” and i was all three snaps, hair flick, #winning.

that is, until i bit into the first potato and it wasn’t even remotely done. seriously!?

i ate it anyway. happily. i’m still new to the cooking game, okay??

hey, like 75% of it was in fact done, and yes…i had to bite into each “chip” to find out if it was done or not. dont judge.

and then today, my cousin asked for the recipe. she doesn’t know the potatoes were raw.

happy eating and love x,

the skinny ginger

Leave a Reply

